Bodily Injury – This coverage provides protection in the event you hurt someone while driving your vehicle. In most cases you can purchase limits of up to $250,000 per person and $500,000 per accident. If you have a bad driving record and this coverage is just too expensive for you, you can opt to reject it.
Property Damage Coverage – This coverage provides protection in the event you collide with another vehicle or cause property damage in an accident. The minimum property damage limit in Florida is $10,000. Property damage coverage is required and cannot be rejected.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage – Uninsured or under-insured motorist coverage will pay for injuries to you and your passengers, when there is an accident and the other driver is both legally responsible for the accident and is “uninsured” or “under-insured.” This is an important coverage but it is not required by the State of Florida.
Collision Coverage – This coverage pays for your vehicle to get fixed in the event of an accident. In most cases you have a deductible of $100 – $1,000. This is an optional coverage but it is usually required if you have a loan on the vehicle.
Comprehensive Coverage – This coverage protects you for perils other than collision such as fire, theft, vandalism, etc. This coverage is not required by the state of Florida but it is usually required if you have a loan on the vehicle.
Medical Payments Coverage – This coverage will pay medical expenses for you and your passengers regardless of who is at fault. This coverage is not required in the State of Florida.
Rental Car Coverage – This coverage pays for a rental car at a specific limit per day if you have sustained a loss to a covered peril.
Towing Coverage – This coverage reimburses you in the event you have your vehicle towed after a loss from a covered peril.