How Many Points Does a Ticket Add to My License in Florida?admin
In 2020, traffic violations in Florida were down 92%, primarily because so many residents were staying at home due to the COVID-19 pandemic. However, now with the rise in vaccine availability, we’re starting to see life return to a sense of normalcy. As a result, you can expect to see traffic violations rise back up to normal levels.
While some infractions are nothing more than an inconvenience, others can leave you with a lot of driver’s license points that could eventually have an impact on your daily life.
Keep reading to learn more about when license points are added to your record, how many points you’ll receive for different types of infractions, the consequences of receiving points, and how to determine if you need high-risk insurance as a result.
Let’s get started!
When Are Points Added to Your Driving Record?
It’s a common misconception to think that as soon as an officer writes your ticket, the corresponding points will be added to your record. In reality, they’re not added to your record until you pay the ticket. Since the state recognizes the payment as an admission of guilt, the points are then added to your license as a consequence of your actions.
However, this means that you can prevent the points from going on your record if you choose to fight the ticket. If instead of paying for the ticket, you decide to dispute it in court, and you’re successful, then the points won’t be added to your license.
Just be aware that if you don’t win your dispute in court, then the points will go on your record once you complete any sanctions you receive from the court.
Types of Tickets and the Points You’ll Receive for Them
In the state of Florida, the number of points you’ll get depends on the type of ticket you receive. The points system ranges between three and six points. Let’s take a closer look at the different point levels and the types of tickets associated with each one.
You’ll receive three points for most minor violations, as it’s the least severe penalty you can receive. Tickets with a 3-point penalty include:
- Speeding violations when going 15 mph or less over the speed limit
- Driving on the shoulder of the road
- Violating curfew
- Driving through a stop sign
- Failing to yield
- Violating open container laws
- Careless driving
- Child seatbelt violations
While 3-point violations are considered fairly minor offenses, 4-point violations are those that could put yourself or other drivers in danger. Here are some of the most common 4-point tickets in Florida:
- Speeding violations when going more than 15 mph over the posted speed limit
- Driving past a stopped school bus
- Driving through a red light
- Reckless driving
- Moving violations (excluding speeding) that result in a crash
Of course, 6-point violations are the most severe driving offenses you can make. You’ll only receive six points when you driving in extremely negligent ways, usually resulting in injuries. 6-point violations include the following types of tickets:
- Speeding violations that result in a crash
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Moving violations that result in bodily harm
The state of Florida takes these offenses very seriously and expects drivers to do so as well.
Consequences for Receiving Points on Your License
So, what happens when you receive points on your record for any of the tickets we discussed above? The short answer is that it depends. Generally speaking, the points will remain on your record for three years.
The period begins either on the day you pay your fine for the ticket or, if you take it to court and lose, the day you complete all court requirements. When you receive points, you can expect to see your insurance rates go up accordingly.
The good news is that if you have only a few minor points on your record, you can opt to take a traffic school course from an approved Florida school to remove the points from your record.
However, if you accrue points quickly, then you could face a license suspension, based on the following:
- 12 points within 12 months results in a 30-day license suspension
- 18 points within 18 months results in a 90-day license suspension
- 24 points within 36 months results in a year-long license suspension
You can check the status of your Florida license at any time on the state’s official website for Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
When You Need High Risk Insurance
If you’ve received several points on your license, especially in a short period of time, your insurance rates may skyrocket, or you might even have trouble finding a company that will approve you for auto insurance. This is where high risk auto insurance can help.
High risk insurance provides coverage for those considered to be high risk drivers by the state of Florida. We understand that high risk drivers can have difficulties finding affordable premiums, so we work hard to find you the best possible rates, regardless of your driving history.
We’ll find plans that cover bodily injuries, collision coverage, property damage, and more to help you feel protected on the road, even if you’ve just gotten your license back after a suspension.
We work with major insurance providers across the state, which gives us access to the best possible coverage for high risk drivers. With our help, you’re sure to find the coverage you need, at the right price.
Here to Help When You Receive Driver’s License Points
If you receive driver’s license points, it can feel like an enormous burden on your life. Staybull Insurance is here to help make it easier for you.
Regardless of your driving history, we’ll help you find the coverage you need. Request a quote today to get started. Soon, your driving history woes will be in the rearview mirror.